Effie Awards South Africa 2022 Judges Announced

Johannesburg, August 18th 2022The Association for Communication and Advertising (ACA) and Effie South Africa are pleased to announce that the jury for the 2022 Effie Awards South Africa has been confirmed. The most effective marketing communications campaigns for the 2022 programme  will be announced at the gala awards ceremony to be held in Johannesburg on the 27th October 2022

Highly regarded across the broader industry, the judges will be tasked with Awarding Ideas that Work®. Members of the jury as announced have extensive experience in the marketing, communications and advertising sector, consisting of industry leaders and trail blazers drawn from a variety of disciplines including strategy, digital, creative, research, media and marketing.

“We are absolutely thrilled at the calibre of judges for this year’s Effie Awards. As a collective they represent a truly diverse and representative selection of the entire sector, consisting of top-level, experienced professionals on both client and agency side. The individuals entrusted with awarding cases represent a variety of advertising and marketing disciplines, key to an effective and equitable process,” says Mathe Okaba, ACA CEO.

Round one of judging to select the shortlist has been completed with the second round scheduled to take place on the 24th August. During the second round, all shortlisted campaigns which have proven to be effective and having achieved marketing objectives will be evaluated by a second group of judges. Round two of judging will identify those campaigns that will be recognised as having achieved finalist status and those deserving of being awarded a highly respected Effie Award.

The Effie Awards’ top honour, the Grand Effie, will be judged by a third jury. The Grand Effie judging panel consists of C-Suite representatives, tasked with awarding the most effective campaign of the year. Grand Effie winners are drawn from cases adjudicated in round two as Effie Gold winners.

“Varied panels adjudicating cases across the first two rounds and Grand Effie ensures that winning cases would have been subjected to extensive rigour throughout the adjudication process. The jury is tasked with the responsibility of maintaining the integrity of the industry’s ability to deliver against business objectives and highlight the benefit to business objectives and bottom line our sector is able to deliver,” concludes Okaba.

The full panel of Effie Awards 2022 judges is as follows:

Amy Harper Senior Digital Strategist Wunderman Thompson
Angie Hattingh Strategic Planning Director Superunion
Arisha Saroop Managing Director The Media Shop
Atiyya Karodia Strategy Director VMLY&R
Avik Sarkar Marketing Director Kellogg’s SA
Babalwa Nyembezi Intergrated Strategy Director Wunderman-Thompson
Beyers van der Merwe Chief Executive: Marketing PEP
Bongani Chinkanda Managing Director The Brave Group
Brandon Govender Integrated Executive Creative Director Joe Public United Durban
Brenda Khumalo Founder & Managing Director Lobengula Lobengula Advertising
Brendan Hoffmann Executive Creative Director Joe Public CPT
Bridget Harpur Head of Marketing Volkswagen SA
Brunella Boamard Lead: Brand Integration/Execution Absa
Bruno Cosentino CMO Africa AB InBev AB InBev
Buli Ndlovu Executive Head of Marketing: Retail & Business Banking Nedbank
Candice Goodman Managing Director Mobitainment
Carl Ungerer Head of digital Mediology
Carol Anne Gallarelli Group Managing Director OFyt
Daniel Steyn Head of Strategy MullenLowe
Danny de Nobrega Managing Partner Kilmer & Cruise
Danny Greeff Digital Media Owner RebelRebel
Dashni Vilakazi Managing Directors The Media Shop
Deborah Whitlock Integrated Group Account Director Joe Public
Derek Coles Managing Director McCann1886
Dono White Strategic Planning Director VMLY&R
Einstein Mwaita Creative Director Wetpaint Advertising
Elizabeth Mokwena Marketing Director Unilever
Ethel Ramos Managing Director Avatar PR
Gabi Bernstein Strategy Director Gabi Bernstein Cosulting
Grace Cooper Senior Strategist VMLY&R
Ille Potgieter Managing Director M&C Saatchi Abel
Isla Prentis Intelligence Lead Park Advertising (Tirisano)
Ivan Moroke CEO Kantar
Jabulani Sigege Executive Creative Director Machine
Jaco Lintvelt Industry Manager Google
Jason Harrison Co-Founder & Group Managing Director M&C Saatchi Abel
Johanna McDowell Founder and CEO IAS Agency Selection
Justine Drake Executive Content Director John Brown Media
Kagiso Mothapo Senior Strategist Brave Group
Katinka Pretorius Managing director Sunshinegun
Katlego Moutlana Chief Strategy Officer Promise Group
Kevin Ndinguri Managing Director UM Africa
Koo Govender CEO Dentsu SA
Leigh Tayler Integrated Strategy Director Joe Public
Lesego Kotane Managing Director King James
Lesego Moagi Marketing Group Executive The Building Company
Louise Johnston Managing Director Grey Advertising Africa
Lynne Krawchuk VP PR, Media Relations and Digital APO Group
Makosha Maja-Rasethaba Partner: Head of Strategy M&C Saatchi Abel
Marc Ashwell Head of Integrated Marketing RMB (Rand Merchant Bank)
Maxine Selmer-Olsen Strategic Planner Grey Advertising Africa / WPP Team Liquid
Megan Mitchell PR & Influence Director Old Friends Young Talent (OFyt)
Mia Roets Experience Design Director Joe Public
Michael Pearce Managing Partner Mediology
Mogorosi Mashilo Founder & Director TrendER
Mosala Phillips Chief Marketing Officer Old Mutual
Natalie Botha Creative & Media Director Kantar Kantar
Nkululeko Vilakazi Creative Director Oliver Marketing (Ustudio)
Parusha Partab Group Strategy Director Wunderman Thompson
Quanita Salie General Manager MetaMedia
Raphael Janan Kuppasamy Art Director Joe Public
Robert Grace Co-founder & Head of Strategy M&C Saatchi
Rosemary Baronetti Strategy Director King James
Sadika Fakir Integrated Media & Digital Director Tiger Brands
Samantha Condon Client Partner Demographica
Sapho Dlangamandla CEO Kanaka
Sarvesh Seetaram Director: Corporate and Group Marketing Strategy Tiger Brands
Shehan Samarasinha Director / Chief Strategy Officer Triad
Shelley Atkinson Executive Creative Director Murmur
SJ Naude Executive Creative Director Murmur
Talent Rupapa Digital Planner MetaMedia
Thabang Skwambane Group CEO Nahana Communications Group
Thabiso Lawrence Senior Strategic Planner Wunderman Thompson
Theo Spencer Managing Partner Africa Oliver Marketing (Ustudio)
Thulani Sibeko Chief Brand and Marketing Officer Standard Bank Group
Tshiamo Tladi Head of Strategy: Retail & Shopper King James Group
Wendy Bedforth Brand Director AB InBev
Wendy Bergsteedt Group Head of Marketing Coronation Fund Managers
Xavier Olivier Founder & Managing Director Dark Matter
Yasmin Kathoria Brand Growth Director Kantar Consulting
Zayd Abrahams CMO / Financial Consultant FNB
Zizwe Vundla Marketing & Innovation Director Diageo South Africa
Zumi Njongwe Consumer Communication and Marketing Director Nestle ESAR


Effie Awards South Africa is organised by the ACA with sponsors Nedbank, Sanlam, SAB, RMB, GIB, Aon, Investec and Metropolitan.

For more information visit the Effie Awards South Africa website at www.effieawards.co.za or visit www.acasa.co.za.

Follow @EffieSouthAfrica on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and @EffieAwardsSA on Twitter to keep up to date on the latest developments.