Judges announced for very first Effie Awards South Africa

Judges announced for very first Effie Awards South Africa

Johannesburg, August 12th 2021The Association for Communication and Advertising (ACA) and Effie Awards South Africa are pleased to announce that the jury for the 2021 Effie Awards South Africa has been confirmed.

Members of the jury for the first Effie Awards to be held on African soil are extremely experienced in the marketing, communications and advertising sector, consisting of industry leaders and trail blazers drawn from a variety of disciplines including strategy, digital, creative, research, media and marketing. Highly regarded across the broader industry, the judges will be tasked with Awarding Ideas that Work®.

The Effie South Africa Jury will adjudicate entries during the first round of judging taking place from the 13th to 17th August 2021, during which entries are reviewed in order to evaluate case success in achieving specific marketing objectives. Round one will result in the selection of a short list based purely on scores. Following this will be round two of judging during which award recipients will be selected and finalists announced. The second round of judging will run from the 3rd to 7th September 2021.

A Grand Effie judging session will take place from the 5th to 7th October 2021, where a possible winner may be selected from the top tier of gold-winning cases. Judged by a third jury panel made up of C-Suite representatives, the Grand Effie will be awarded to the entry adjudicated the most effective winning case.

Says Mathe Okaba, CEO of the ACA: “The judging panel for the first Effie Awards South Africa is truly diverse and representative of the entire sector, consisting of top-level, experienced professionals on both client and agency side. As a whole, they represent a variety of advertising and marketing disciplines, key to an effective and equitable process. The level of experience, coupled with the varied panels adjudicating cases across the first two rounds and Grand Effie, ensures that winning cases would have been subjected to extensive rigour throughout the adjudication process. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the panel for agreeing to participate and we look forward to announcing the first Effie Awards South Africa winners in October.”

The confirmed panel of judges is as follows:

Judge Designation Agency/Company Name
Atiyya Karodia Strategy Director VMLY&R SA
Ana Carrapichano Group Managing Director Mediology
Andrea Quaye Senior Director, Global Category Lead – Coffee Coca-Cola
Angie Hattingh Senior Digital Strategist Ogilvy SA
Beyers van der Merwe Marketing Director PEP Stores
Brett Bruton Creative Strategy Director Superunion
Brian Yuyi CEO Marketing Association of SA
Candice Armitage Integrated Strategist Joe Public United
Candice Goodman Managing Director Mobitainment
Carl Ungerer Head of Digital / Managing Partner Mediology
Charnè Munien Integrated Senior Digital Strategic Planner Joe Public
Danny de Nobrega Co-Founder Kilmer & Cruise
Ethel Ramos Managing Director Avatar PR
Fran Luckin Chief Creative Officer Grey Advertising SA
Gareth Leck CEO Joe Public United
Haydn Townsend Managing Director Accenture
Itumaleng Sethebe Executive Creative Director The Riverbed
Ivan Moroke CEO, South Africa, Insights Division Kantar
Jason Harrison Managing Director M&C Saatchi Abel
Joey Khuvutlu Group Executive Hellocomputer
Johanna McDowell Founder & CEO IAS
Kabelo Collis Strategist BlackSwan Assets
Katinka Pretorius Managing Director Sunshinegun
Katlego Ditlokwe Strategy Lead The Brave Group
Katlego Moutlana Head of Strategy Mortimer Harvey
Lebogang Kodisang Head of Strategy Pacinamix
Lwandile Qokweni CEO Wavemaker SA
Madelaine Fourie Group Brand Manager Sappi
Masego Motsogi Managing Director Grid Worldwide
Mathieu Plassard Chief Client Officer Ogilvy SA
Melusi Tshabalala Founder & CEO Everyday Speak
Michael Pearce Media Director Mediology
Mick Blore CEO Wolves
Mike Jones Business Unit Head: Digital Marketing Mediology
Nadia Mohamed Marketing Director SSA Mondelez International SA
Natalie Botha Creative Development Director Kantar
Neo Segola Chief Creative – Draftline Johannesburg ABInbev
Nicole van Blerk Strategic Media Planner Meta Media, CT
Paula Hulley CEO IAB SA
Quanita Sallie Media Director, CT Meta Media, CT
Refilwe Maluleke Managing Director Yellowwood Future Architects
Robert Grace Head of Strategy M&C Saatchi Abel
Roxy Maqache CEO Dessert Arabia
Russell Comrie Head of Strategy The 13th Floor
Samantha Condon Group Managing Director ETIKET Brand Design and Sum of 21
Sarah Dexter CEO MullenLowe South Africa
Simon Spreckley Chief Creative Officer Hoorah Digital Consulting
Steve Miller Chief Strategic Officer Duke
Stuart Walsh Chief Strategic Officer Grey Advertising
Suhyl Limbada Marketing Director KFC South Africa
Su-Lise Tessendorf Executive Marketing Consultant Independent Consultant
Tarryn Knight Head of Marketing & Product Audi SA
Tebogo Motsepe Head of Brand and Client Insights Nedbank
Thebe Ikalafeng Founder & CEO Brand Leadership Group
Thabang Skwambane Managing Director FCB Joburg & Hellocomputer
Thabisa Mkhuwanazi Executive Head of Marketing Multichoice
Thembalethu Msibi Marketing Director BlackSwan Assets
Thulani Sibeko Chief Brand & Marketing Officer Standard Bank Group
Tiaan Ras Chief Brand Dude ETIKET Brand Design
Tlalane Ntuli Chief Marketing Officer Metropolitan Life
Tosin Lanipekun Executive Director Advertising Week
Zayd Abrahams Segment Marketing Head: Retail & Private Banking FNB
Zorana Safar Group Operations and Innovations Director Joe Public


The Effie Awards South Africa is organised by the ACA with Presenting Partner Sponsor Provantage Media Group, and Sponsors, Nedbank, Sanlam and Vodacom.

Winners will be announced at the inaugural Effie Awards Gala on Thursday 14 October 2021.

For more information visit the Effie Awards South Africa website at www.effieawards.co.za or visit www.acasa.co.za.


Follow @EffieSouthAfrica on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and @EffieAwardsSA on Twitter to keep up to date on the latest developments.